Internet Keeps Cutting Out

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,137

Re: Internet Keeps Cutting Out

Does look like a local issue.. either hardware failure not handling the load.. or congestion.

 

With todays modems, we really shouldnt generally see congestion as an issue, unless an area is Oversold (which is completely possible)

 

Otherwise, its a hardware thats say failing.  We had some line issues a number of years back here.  Was perfectly fine, until 7-10pm ish.  The key times, where there would be the highest load on the whole subdivision, etc.  The lines with issues, couldnt handle the full stressed load.

 

It took about 3 months of continuing pestering, to eventually get it fixed.

 

Again, i do wish you luck.



I'm a Trusted Contributor
Posts: 521

Re: Internet Keeps Cutting Out


@Gdkitty wrote:

 

  

It took about 3 months of continuing pestering, to eventually get it fixed.

 

Again, i do wish you luck.


@Gdkitty  Connection cut out around 8 pm and then again at 10:30 pm last night. It does seems like a line capacity issue. I wonder if my neighbours who just got Netflix might have something to do with it.   I'll keep monitoring the situation to see when the problem occurs. So far, no responses or help from any Mod which is very disappointing. 

 

BTW, considering the Terms of Service and the Guidelines the Mods should not fear posting anything here as Rogers basically disavows any association with comments that people post. On the other hand, if you post any ideas or solutions that work, Rogers then claims that they own your content. Very one sided terms and conditions as you are probably aware. 

 

"To the maximum extent permitted by applicable law, you will defend, indemnify and hold harmless Rogers, its licensors, suppliers, service providers and agents (and each of their respective directors, officers, employees, shareholders and representatives) from and against all claims, losses, damages, costs and expenses (including, without limitation, all reasonable legal fees and other litigation expenses) arising out of: (i) your breach of any provision of these Terms; or (ii) your use or misuse of the Forums and the placement or transmission of your submissions to this website made by you or others using your account."

 

"For any content that you submit, you hereby grant to Rogers a world-wide, non-exclusive, perpetual, irrevocable, fully sub-licensable, royalty-free and transferable right and licence to use, reproduce, copy, modify, compress, delete in its entirety, adapt, publish, translate, communicate, publicly perform, publicly display, create derivative works from and/or sell and/or distribute such content and/or incorporate such content into any form, medium or technology now known or later developed without compensation to you."

 

 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,654

Re: Internet Keeps Cutting Out

 

Hello, @User14

 

Thank you for posting your concern in the Community. We have the basic How To troubleshoot Internet issue guide you are looking for in our Internet board. Is the freezing/dropping happening on WiFi connection or on Ethernet connection?

 

Please post the Downstream and Upstream signal levels when the issue is happening so that we can discuss the next step to fix the issue. We need to run diagnostics when it's happening to determine the root cause. You can post the signal levels here or reach out to us on Twitter (@RogersHelps) or on Facebook (www.facebook.com/rogers).

 

Cheers,

RogersMoin

I'm a Trusted Contributor
Posts: 521

Re: Internet Keeps Cutting Out


@RogersMoin wrote:

 

We have the basic How To troubleshoot Internet issue guide you are looking for in our Internet board. Is the freezing/dropping happening on WiFi connection or on Ethernet connection?

  

Cheers,

RogersMoin


Thank you.  The link  How To: Diagnosing Slow Internet & Basic Internet Troubleshooting was very helpful and saved me a lot of search time.

 

It is an ethernet connection.  The connection cut out at 10:20 pm today with google, but after getting the "kill - wait" screen, I killed it and I was able to click on next "restore" screen.  I try to collect more data before calling Tech Support.

 

Thanks again. 

I'm a Trusted Contributor
Posts: 521

Re: Internet Keeps Cutting Out

Internet connection currently working at 13:15 pm:

Will check again when/if the connection drops.

Can anyone interpret this data?

 

Downstream
Port 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Frequency (MHz) 615.000 609.000 603.000 621.000 357.000 363.000 369.000 375.000
Modulation 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM
Signal power (dBmV) -4.85 -4.72 -4.96 -4.65 -5.46 -5.80 -5.61 -5.82
Signal noise ratio (dB) 37.092 37.092 37.092 37.092 35.417 35.417 35.595 35.417
Channel ID 35 34 33 36 9 10 11 12

 

Upstream
Port 1 2 3 4
Frequency (Hz) 30596000 23700000 38596000
Bandwidth (kbps/KHz) 6400000 6400000 3200000
ModulationType ATDMA ATDMA ATDMA
Signal power (dBmV) 40.7500 39.7500 40.5000
Channel ID 1 2 3

 

I'm a Trusted Contributor
Posts: 521

Re: Internet Keeps Cutting Out

 


@User14 wrote:

Can anyone interpret this data?

 

I found some interesting information on interpreting the Signal power and Signal noise ratio data for my modem. 

 

My Downstream data

Port 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Frequency (MHz) 615.000 609.000 603.000 621.000 357.000 363.000 369.000 375.000
Modulation 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM 256 QAM
Signal power (dBmV) -4.85 -4.72 -4.96 -4.65 -5.46 -5.80 -5.61 -5.82
Signal noise ratio (dB) 37.092 37.092 37.092 37.092 35.417 35.417 35.595 35.417
Channel ID 35 34 33 36 9 10 11 12

 

Downstream Power (-15dbmV to +15dbmV) - measure of the signal level received by the cable modem
Most modems are rated from -15dB to +15dB, however it's best to have it between +8dB and -8dB. Anything less or more than that and you may have quality issues. You can remove splitters on the line if you need to raise and clean up your signal level a bit. You can also use a tap (directional coupler) to get a cleaner signal to the cable modem instead of a splitter.

 

Signal/Noise Ratio (SNR , >30dB) - measure of how clear the signal is
SNR is best over 30, (the higher the better, might work well with as low as 25 at times). Anything less than 25 will cause dropped connections, packet loss, slow transfers, etc. This is true for both the "DownstreamSNR" and the "Upstream SNR", which may be different values. Typically, cable modems show the Downstream SNR, the Upsteram SNR can only be calculated at the remote end of the coax (usually at the node). Just remember that higher SNR means cleaner signal. A value well over 40 may mean you have too much power.

Note: Different brand modems may represent the information a bit differently, and may react a little different to exact power levels.

 

My Upstream data
Port 1 2 3 4
Frequency (Hz) 30596000 23700000 38596000
Bandwidth (kbps/KHz) 6400000 6400000 3200000
ModulationType ATDMA ATDMA ATDMA
Signal power (dBmV) 40.7500 39.7500 40.5000
Channel ID 1 2 3


Upstream Power / Modulation(37dbmV to 55dbmV) - the strength of signal transmitted by the cable modem
Above 55dB will most likely cause problems, over 57dB and you probably won't be able to connect. Ideally between 42 and 50dB. Lower than 40 may start introducing some packet loss (especially if you have much noise on the line). If you hit 58 the modem will likely drop the connection and resync. 

It looks like I am getting almost the right amount of signal power, but the modem power is border-line low and could be my problem.  My next decision is whether or not to exchange my modem to see if it makes a difference or call Tech Support.  I haven't had the internet connection drop completely in the past few days, but it hasn't connected in a couple of cases.  I get the activity wheel when using Chrome showing it is trying to connect, but it times out and I might get the "Page Unresponsive"    "Kill  or Wait"  pop up.  

 

I wonder if Rogers gave me a re-furbished modem that isn't meeting the signal standards?  

 

I'm a Trusted Contributor
Posts: 521

Re: Internet Keeps Cutting Out

Well, just after my last post my internet connection failed again and I tried capturing the modem data to take with me to the store. Google Chrome restored the page and it connected after a few minutes. I discovered more information about the CGN2-Rogers Hitron modem on the web as well.  Here is part of the information below (in blue) that I can post.  I am not sure it if it is misinformation or not. It is always difficult to know what is true but this may be interesting for those having the same problem with these 'dropping'  and 'waiting' times with the CGN2 modems when trying to connect and stay connected to the internet. 

 

The second issue was that we couldn’t keep the computers connected to the internet. That’s a major problem. Every time we rebooted the CGN2 the computers on the network stopped connecting to the internet. We’d have to plug a computer directly into the Hitron CGN2 and then power cycle the router before the computer would connect. We couldn’t get a second computer to connect. Funny enough, after two hours of waiting the second computer would finally get an internet connection. An hour later the third computer came on. Eight hours later the fourth computer would finally come online. If you change a setting in the CGN2 (in our case the IP address), the router would reboot and we had to start the process all over again.

 

We installed our own router, a rather inexpensive Asus RT-N10+ (a great little unit for the money) and suddenly everything just worked. The computers all got online instantly (and better yet, stayed online). The VOIP phones started working perfectly. The wireless range was significantly improved and functional. The Blackberries happily jumped on and stayed on. All was well in the network.

 

If Rogers manages to convince you that the Hitron Technologies CGN2 is the only way to go, make sure to convince them to “bridge” the unit to become a simple modem and buy yourself a decent little router.

 

This is very interesting information which does not reflect well on the Rogers equipment that I am renting and paying a lot of money for each month.  I am also getting pop-ups from Rogers asking for my feedback. I would suggest adding to the online survey so that Rogers obtains feedback on their equipment. Perhaps the mods reading this can pass this up the chain to senior management, indicating how much time customers loose in dealing with these equipment problems. I have spent so much time and frustration with this issue, I feel I should be compensated. 

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,137

Re: Internet Keeps Cutting Out

Well, to say i really liked any of the rogers modems could be a stretch... but never really liked the CGN2.


Could it be something as simple as its just droping out in general (its router functionality, failing)?? Possibly.
The above, putting it into bridge mode, with a 3rd party router.. takes most of that away, and its only doing the basics.   MIGHT solve some of the issues.

Having the CGN2.. i am guessing your on a bit of a legacy/older plan?  Might be worth seeing if there is no charge difference between using the CGN2 and the CGN3 with your plan.
Not that the ROUTER part is much better.  BUT, its a 24 channel modem.  More channels, less change of congestion, at least if that is part of the issue.


Other than that, the signal is not HORRIBLE... could be a little better, but you shouldnt be experincing your issues like that, unless it was much worse, in general.



I'm a Trusted Contributor
Posts: 521

Re: Internet Keeps Cutting Out


@Gdkitty wrote:

Having the CGN2.. i am guessing your on a bit of a legacy/older plan?  Might be worth seeing if there is no charge difference between using the CGN2 and the CGN3 with your plan.
Not that the ROUTER part is much better.  BUT, its a 24 channel modem.  More channels, less change of congestion, at least if that is part of the issue.


I guess my plan is old. The CGN2-Rogers Hitron is part of the $25 Basic Internet 5 package as you probably know. Others may not know that the same modem is used for the Ignite 30 package, which is coded for a speed of 30mbps instead of 5mbps with my package.  But Internet 5 has "Speedboost" to 11mbps so it is fine for me. I don't stream HD videos and You Tube isn't a problem when I need it. It is these disconnects that are a nuisance.

 

Download speed

What you can do

100 Mbps +

Stream 4K video at a high frame rate.

50 Mbps +

Reliably stream HD videos at a high frame rate on multiple devices at the same time.

25 Mbps +

Reliably stream HD videos on multiple devices at the same time.

13 Mbps +

Stream a few HD videos at once.

7 Mbps +

Stream one HD video. If multiple devices are streaming videos or using the network at the same time, you may run into some buffering issues.

3 Mbps +

Stream a standard definition video on one device.

Under 3 Mbps

YouTube videos may load slowly or rebuffer.

 

Moving along, I did exchange the modem today to see what would happen to the signal power and noise ratio on a different modem. BTW, I tried asking for a CGN3, but he had to call the main office to figure out what I was entitled to with my interrnet package. He said I could only get the CGN2 with 5mbps on my plan. I would have to pay extra for a different modem and I couldn't buy a third party modem.  I did inform him that I got 11mbps with "Speedboost" but I got a blank stare. Smiley Wink   There was no point explaining "Speedboost", so I took the new "refurbished" modem and left. 

 

So here is yesterday's data around 10 pm with the previous modem.

 

Downstream

Port

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

Frequency (MHz)

615.000

609.000

603.000

621.000

357.000

363.000

369.000

375.000

Modulation

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

Signal power (dBmV)

-4.91

-4.77

-5.04

-4.71

-6.07

-6.44

-6.20

-6.28

Signal noise ratio (dB)

35.972

35.595

35.247

36.174

31.201

31.268

30.052

28.678

Channel ID

35

34

33

36

9

10

11

12

Upstream

Port

1

2

3

4

Frequency (Hz)

30596000

23700000

38596000

 

Bandwidth (kbps/KHz)

6400000

6400000

3200000

 

ModulationType

ATDMA

ATDMA

ATDMA

 

Signal power (dBmV)

44.7500

43.0000

44.2500

 

Channel ID

1

2

3

 

 

And here is today around 10 pm with the new modem. The upstream signal strength looks worse.

 

Downstream

Port

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

Frequency (MHz)

591.000

585.000

579.000

597.000

357.000

363.000

369.000

375.000

Modulation

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

256 QAM

Signal power (dBmV)

-4.81

-4.78

-4.85

-4.75

-4.77

-5.19

-5.22

-5.38

Signal noise ratio (dB)

37.092

37.092

36.844

37.092

37.092

36.844

36.844

36.609

Channel ID

31

30

29

32

9

10

11

12

Upstream

Port

1

2

3

4

Frequency (Hz)

30596000

23700000

38596175

 

Bandwidth (kbps/KHz)

6400000

6400000

3200000

 

ModulationType

ATDMA

ATDMA

ATDMA

 

Signal power (dBmV)

41.5000

40.7500

41.5000

 

Channel ID

1

2

3

 

 

 {Oops... I just had what I wrote deleted. and a pop up from google came up asking me to restore the page which I just did. Nearly lost everything!  It might have been a potential disconnect that just happened on this modem at 10:30. }

I was just going to say that the previous modem gave me similar Upstream and Downstream readouts so I am no further ahead.  I just wasted more of my time going to the Rogers store but I don't think the modem is the problem at this point. 

 

BTW, setting up the modem wasted even more of my time when I got the message below. My fault I think, since I had the ethernet cable plugged in through my router. I should have connected the cable to the modem directly to start the setup. The saga continues so I hope whoever reads this besides Gdkitty feels some empathy. 

 

Rogers - Setup Problem - Rogers.png

 

 

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 39

Re: Internet Keeps Cutting Out

Flaky internet connection

 

I always get a diconnection once a day and the router(CGNM-3552) is having a hard time re-establishing a connection. I only got the service for a week and it is not looking good.  Here is some information that might help for troubleshooting.

 

Hardware Version1A
Software Version4.5.8.21
  
  
System TimeSun, 11 Dec 2016 15:04:44
Time ZoneUTC+00:00 Greenwich Mean Time: Dublin, London, Lisbon
LAN Up Time000 days 00h:41m:35s
WAN IP Address, 2607:f798:804:95:542d:c5ee:1947:6d51
WAN Receiving1.66G Bytes
WAN Sending141.22M Bytes
Private LAN IP Address192.168.0.1/24
LAN Receiving142.07M Bytes
LAN Sending1.64G Bytes
WAN Up Time000 days 00h:38m:19s

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1693000000256QAM-2.2004737.636
2363000000256QAM-2.5001036.610
3369000000256QAM-2.4001136.610
4375000000256QAM-2.7001236.387
5381000000256QAM-2.2001336.610
6387000000256QAM-2.6001436.610
7393000000256QAM-2.7001536.610
8399000000256QAM-2.7001637.356
9405000000256QAM-2.8001737.356
10411000000256QAM-2.9001836.610
11417000000256QAM-2.8001937.356
12423000000256QAM-2.7002037.356
13429000000256QAM-2.5002137.356
14435000000256QAM-2.9002237.356
15441000000256QAM-2.8002337.636
16447000000256QAM-2.9002437.636
17555000000256QAM-2.0002537.636
18561000000256QAM-2.3002637.636
19567000000256QAM-2.4002737.636
20573000000256QAM-2.6002837.636
21579000000256QAM-2.5002937.636
22585000000256QAM-2.2003037.636
23591000000256QAM-1.9003138.605
24597000000256QAM-2.0003237.636
25603000000256QAM-1.8003338.600
26609000000256QAM-1.7003438.200
27615000000256QAM-2.3003538.200
28621000000256QAM-2.6003637.900
29681000000256QAM-2.4004537.300
30687000000256QAM-2.6004636.900
31357000000256QAM-2.500936.900
32699000000256QAM-2.0004837.300
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandWidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM44.50056400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM46.50063200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM44.50046400000

 

Thanks in advance for the help.