Hitron CGN2-ROG Enhenced WiFi Modem issues

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile

Re: Hitron CGN2-ROG Enhenced WiFi Modem issues

I was replying peterblack12's post.
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile

I am new to Rogers and have Hitron modem/router combo unit.

I agree that a modem only solution should be offered. The hitron lacks any USB functionality for networked storage or printer connections. It's a base model unit and according to hitron's own website it was sold to Rogers as an 'affordable' docsis 3.0 solution.

Some of the better 3rd party modems will also autoscan for a clear wireless channel. A nice feature for those less technically inclined.

A couple of tips for those with wireless range issues...other people may have additional suggestions.

Make sure you don't have a cordless phone that uses the 2.4 broadcast frequency. If you do, replace them with DECT 6.0 models.

Try changing the wireless channel. This can be done in the routers setup page. Try different channels and run a speedtest.net to check your speed. Repeat until you find a channel not being used by your neighbours.

Remember that your wireless speed will never be as fast as your wired speed. I think the hitron is a N-150. In my experience you can't do better than 14-15mbps over this connection. If anyone gets better than this on a N-150 I'd like to know but I believe this the theoretical maximum transfer rate.

If you want N-300 or N-450 wireless transfer rates you'll need to bridge the hitron and use a 3rd party party. I have a preference for Dlinks but others have their favourites.

If anyone else has experience improving the performance of the hitron please post them here for the benefit of other users.

Like if you find this useful/constructive.

Msimon1960.