HDMI issue with Cisco 8642 HD PVR!!

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile

HDMI issue with Cisco 8642 HD PVR!!

Hey all,

I'm thoroughly confused.  I'm by no means a techie, but I'm pretty sure I have it hooked up right. 

I have the aforementioned Cisco box. It has always worked with my TV (Panasonic) directly just fine.  I now have a Sony Home Theatre System.  I have my HDMI connecting from Cisco out to Sony. And Sony HDMI out to Panasonic TV.  When I FIRST turn the various devices on, I get picture/sound just fine (everything is normal).  If I turn the Cisco box off, when it comes back on I no longer get any picture.  If I turn the power bar on and off (that has all devices plugged into it), the same thing happens --- I get picture/sound the first time, but then no time after.

So, right now every time I want to watch TV I have to reset my power bar and wait 5 minutes for the Cisco box to load. 

Has anyone had this issue?  If it's a Cisco box issue (i see the word 'firmware' on here a lot), is there anything I can do?   I guess I'm asking if:

1) do you know what the problem is?

2) do you know what I can do to fix it?? 

Many thanks in advance!!!

Happy holidays,

Ty

***Edited labels***

Solved! Go to Solution.
I'm a Trusted Contributor

Re: HDMI issue with Cisco 8642 HD PVR!!

You may want to turn off HDMI sync on your TV and Sony HT. Most Panasonic TVs have Viera link on by default. Sony uses Bravia Sync or something with a similar name. Also, if you have another HDMI cable in the house, use it to troubleshoot a physical problem with the hook up.
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Now, is this happening with the sony home theatre ON or off at the time?