cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chromecast

rdesbris2
I've Been Here Awhile

I purchased a Chromecast device. It won't connect to my wifi network and my Android device. My Rogers router is a Cisco DPC3825

Chromcast support says that I have to change a router setting so that AP Isolation is Disabled.

When I go into the router settings I can't see how to do this?

Any ideas?

***edited labels***

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Chromecast

mccarter123
I've Been Here Awhile

I suggest that you buy a original chromecast device. If have any problems then contact chromecast. They got mine working because they work with Rogers. I am not very technical so I got help.

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17

Gdkitty
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

I dont quite think that is the problem.

Not all wireless routers/APs have isolation..  most dont that i have ever seen.

When isolation is ON, means that they CAN NOT see other devices at all on the network.. pretty much the device talks to the router, but can not then talk out to another device.

The DPC3825, can do talk back and forth between devices just fine.. so it doesnt have isolation (or it is disabled anyways).

One thing to try (seens a few wierd things before, with ipads, etc).  Turn off ALL wireless on all other devices in the house (laptops, phones, game systems, etc).. make sure nothing is on the wireless.  Reboot the Cisco, make sure everything is fresh.  Try to then connect the chromecast.  Then connect the others.

Re: Chromcast

You might be one of the only people on the forum, who HAS a chromcast??

(i thought it wasnt available in canada yet?)

Other than basic troubleshooting things.. we might not be of much help.

rdesbris2
I've Been Here Awhile

I purchased it from a US supplier and they shipped to Canada

Ah, thats what i was figuring.

As for help.. without someone else having one.. might be hard to help.