Can my router cause my phone to drop wifi connection?

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around

Can my router cause my phone to drop wifi connection?

I have the SMCD3GN. I have never noticed any major issues with it. I did go through a small period of time where it would reboot often but that's about it. I think I've only reboot it manually about 10 times or less over the last 3 yrs. 

Anyway, my issue is that my 1 month old phone (Nokia Lumia 1520) drops wifi connection constantly. When I'm at home I have it set up to automatically connect to wifi. I have an option turned on within the phone to stay connected to wifi after the screen times out. However, I recently hit my 6GB monthly data limit in less than 3 weeks which is something I've never done before. I was able to determine that though my phone shows as connected to wifi it infact is not. And I have to manually disconnect from wifi and then manually reconnect to wifi. If I stop surfing the net or stream media and ut my phone back to sleep my phone will disconnect from wifi within 5 -10 min. If I go back to using it again after those 10 min it will show the wifi on the status bar as active but it will use data until I disconnect and reconnect my data.