Buy or Rent PVR

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
I've Been Around

Buy or Rent PVR

I have been renting a PVR from Rogers for a couple of years now.  Would I be better off buying it out right?  If I do will I have to pay full price or will I get a discount on it because of the rent I have paid?  Thx.

Solved! Go to Solution.

Accepted Solutions
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Re: Buy or Rent PVR

Lets lay it out for you 🙂

BUY: 
Costs around $500+ for it.  Possibly a BIG cunck of money at one time, if you cant afford it. 

But its yours 100%, can sell it, etc.
Has a 2 year warranty.

Rent to Own:
Costs around $15-17 a month (depending on model), over 36 months.
By the time the 36 months rolls around, you have maybe payed an extra $100 for the unit vs buying..
BUT.. the difference is, durring that 3 year period, its a full SWAP the unit at a store warranty... vs buying is a send off warranty.

Rental:

Costs around $25 a month...
Pretty much just a swap warranty whenever needed.

TRUTHFULLY?  Straight out renal is pointless anymore.   Rent to own or buy, are the only real ones worth choosing.
You technically spend a little moreont he rent to own.. but get MORE coverage.. and helps spread the cost out.

View solution in original post

All Replies
I'm a Senior Advisor

You will have to pay full price.

I have one bought and one rented.. The nice part of the rental is when it breaks I can just exchange it. My bought one doesn't record cleanly anymore (pixelated/glitchy and such) and sadly I can't just swap it.

You can always try calling rogers and asking them if they will give you money towards buying one or something like that..
I Plan to Stick Around

RE: Buy or Rent PVR

What's the best option buy, rent or rent to own? 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert