250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,232

Re: 250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

I agree with what VivienM says

 

I see this all the time with a friend who lives in Waterloo area.
I cant get it through it head, WHY his speed tests to waterloo is SLOWER than to toronto from there.  Its because its route has to go to toronto, before waterloo



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: 250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

Hi All,

 

I'm in the same boat as the op. I upgraded from ignite 60 to 250/20 last week but haven't seen a jump at all in the speed. I have 2 android boxes, a Samsung Galaxy Note III, a ps3 and ps4 as well as a laptop all hooked up to the network. My modem/router is the CGN3ROG running firmware 4.2.4.5. Before I did the upgrade, I did a speed test just to see what the ignite 60 was giving me. On average I was getting ping of 22 with a download of 35 and an upload of about 12. When I upgraded to the 250u, my download speeds are an average of 40 with an upload of 20-22 and a ping anywhere from 15-22. I even tried to hardwire both my laptop and android box and my speeds seem to be lower. If I switch my phone to 5Ghz, I hover around 100mbs and an upload of 20 or so.

 

I've used inSSIDer to locate a new channel with little to no overlap for 2.4Ghz.

 

Here are my downstream and upstream results. I'm not an expert by any means so these numbers mean nothing to me. Hopefully someone can tell me if they are alright.

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Signal noise ratio (dB)Channel ID
1597000000256QAM-5.20038.6052
2591000000256QAM-4.30038.9831
3603000000256QAM-5.60038.6053
4609000000256QAM-6.00038.6054
5615000000256QAM-6.10038.9835
6621000000256QAM-6.30038.6056
7633000000256QAM-5.70038.6057
8639000000256QAM-6.00038.6058
9645000000256QAM-6.20038.6059
10651000000256QAM-6.30038.60510
11657000000256QAM-6.80038.60511
12663000000256QAM-6.40037.63612
13669000000256QAM-6.50038.60513
14675000000256QAM-6.80038.60514
15681000000256QAM-5.60038.60515
16687000000256QAM-5.60038.60516
17693000000256QAM-6.10038.60517
18699000000256QAM-6.60038.60518
19705000000256QAM-7.10037.63619
20711000000256QAM-8.50037.35620
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)BandWidthModulation TypeSignal Strength (dBmV)Channel ID
1385960003200000ATDMA46.5001
2237000006400000ATDMA47.0003
3305960006400000ATDMA45.5002

 

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to assist me.

 

Brad

Highlighted
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 700

Re: 250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

Welcome to the Community @Redwings123

 

I see you mentioned on Ignite 60 you were still only getting 35 Mbps, was this wired or wireless?

 

@Gdkitty@VivienM@Datalink Any suggestions that could help @Redwings123 ?

 

Feel free to chime in CommunitySmiley Happy

 

RogersAsif

 

 

 

 

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: 250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

Thanks for the welcome,

 

When I was on ignite 60 and did the speed test I was on wireless. I thought 35 was the norm for being on wifi. 

 

Also as per tech support, I switched out my modem today to a "rocket modem". CGN3ACSMR with firmware 4.4.8.13. Still no change.

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,860

Re: 250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

At this point you have two problems to contend with, the first is your signal levels, both downstream and upstream, and the second is the modem firmware.  Call tech support and have the CSR run a signal level check on the modem.  That check and follow on discussion, mentioning the slow download speeds of course, should lead to a tech visit to check the external cable and connectors.  The low downstream and high upstream levels are indicative of a cable or connector failure which is a normal occurrence.  Right now, those levels are just at the point where a tech should be called in to check the cabling.  The downstream levels should be at 0 dBmV and the upstream should be in the 36 to 40 dBmV range.  When the signal levels are back to where they should be, connecting to the modem via Cat 5e ethernet should yield a speedtest result in the 300 Mb/s down, 20 Mb/s up range.  Don't consider any wifi speedtest results until you know that the modem is supplying the connected data rate that it should.

 

Just to note, as you will read thru several posts here in the forum, all in one modems, no matter what ISP don't have the greatest wifi capability.  If wifi performance is important, the best solution is to bridge the modem and run a good router behind it for all of the router and wifi duties.  That router should have external antenna and gigabit WAN and LAN ports.  A good router will make a huge difference in wifi performance.  Fwiw, with the CGN3, the best that I ever saw was 100 Mb/s on a 2.4 Ghz network, and 200 Mb/s on a 5 Ghz network.  The same modem with an Asus RT-AC68U connected to it delivers 328 Mb/s down, 22 Mb/s up, wired and wireless.  The wireless is running on an 802.11ac network, which supports those data rates.  The 60 Mb/s service should deliver peak wired rates of ~95 Mb/s down, ~11 Mb/s up.  With a good router, you would see that via wireless as well.

 

The modem will be upgraded to firmware version 4.5.8.16 within the next 48 to 72 hours.  If it goes any longer than that, @CommunityHelps can help getting the firmware pushed out to your modem.  That firmware version solves the problems with online games, such as League of Legends, and others, VPN and VOIP devices as well.  Until that version is loaded, attempting any of those activities will be an exercise in frustration. 



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: 250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

Thanks for the reply. 

 

It's very funny. I spoke with tech support twice and they told me that my signals were very, very good. Figures that they aren't.

 

I'm going to try to bridge the modem with a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900. Hopefully that has some positive effect on the situation. 

 

I will also call them again and have them send a tech out to replace my connectors.

 

Thanks again for help. This has been driving me nuts.

 

Brad

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 27

Re: 250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

OK I'm back with a bigger problem. My ethernet ports randomly stop working until I unplug the router, wait 30 seconds, then plug it back in. But during when they randomly stop working, the Wi-Fi still works. This has happened twice within the past week.

 

And it's not one ethernet port, ALL of them stop working at the same time. It's hard to believe all ports are defective. And they start working once I reset the router.

 

Also, I sometimes cannot access my router's webpage. Only sometimes will it let me in.

 

 

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,232

Re: 250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

Sounds like it may be a flakey unit.

Quite often on network products, ports are grouped together under one controler.
Even on a big say 24 port switch.. they are broken down into groups of 4, etc.
So its quite possible its failing and taking the whole thing down.


The unit is standing UPRIGHT correct? not on it side?



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 27

Re: 250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

yes it's standing right

 

now 5 GHz isn't even detected and my computer can't connect to any port,  but some other devices with ethernet work. and no it's not my computer, sometimes the other ethernet devices don't work either.

 

Can I swap it with a new router without the power cord since I just need another router not another cord.

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,796

Re: 250u Internet Slower and Glitchier than Hybrid Fibre 70 + test results

Hello, @Someone

 

The modem's power supply has to be tested as well during the recertification process, hence It is recommended to return the power supply unit along with the modem, hope this helps.

 

Thanks,

RogersMoin