Beware of $25 charge for pre-authorized credit cards

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
I Plan to Stick Around

Beware of $25 charge for pre-authorized credit cards

For convenience I setup a pre-authorized credit card to pay my bill.  I thought this was a great option to pay my rogers bill without hassles.  I have been doing this for a couple of years.  

However after reviewing my bills this year, I discovered two $25 charges on two separate bills.  After I called rogers, they told me these were "Returned Payment Charges" because my credit cards didn't go through.  What happened was that my credit card number changed because the credit card company gave me new cards with new numbers because somebody had fraudulently obtained my numbers.  The old credit card numbers that Rogers had were no longer valid.

After Rogers informed me, I did change my credit card number with them but I didn't expect to see a $25 charge.  This is outrageous as this is significantly more than the amount they charge if you miss paying your bill.  I immediately removed pre-authorized payments once I found out.

Beware.  Don't sign up for pre-authorized payments as they can easily charge you $25 if you forget to update your credit card number or expiry date.

I hope this helps someone avoid paying the unnecessary $25 fees.

***Edited Labels***

Re: Beware of $25 charge for pre-authorized credit cards

Hello, @iwantmyiphone4

Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums! Thank you for sharing your experience. Smiley Happy

I can relate to your experience as I’ve many products on pre-authorized credit card payments and usually I’ll get notified of the nearing expiration date. For any reason if I forget to update the credit card then I know I’ll be charged for Returned Payment.

Thank you for the reminder!