Rogers.com - Welcome
 
WIRELESS HOME PHONE CABLE TV INTERNET HOME MONITORING BUNDLES SUPPORT
Reply

8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

Resident Expert
jimboden
Posts: 743
Registered: ‎08-15-2012

Had an odd experience with an 8300 last night. When the time came to record a program, I noticed the record light wasn’t on. I have seen this a couple of other times and a reboot fixes it. I rebooted and close to the end, the display showed FAIL. Despite that, it came up and started recording my program. After about a minute, the box started rebooting on its own. The FAIL message showed up at least one more time. The interesting thing was the box rebooted itself at least 6 more times before it finally got back to normal. I was wondering if anyone else has ever seen this problem and what the FAIL message means.

I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please click on the if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

Re: 8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

[ Edited ]
Resident Expert
Gdkitty
Posts: 8,761
Registered: ‎01-31-2012

Seen people say they have had the fail message before a variety of things.. dead HDD.. other internal fairure, etc.
Best i have ever found of a listing of what the error codes mean, is that its a general failure on something starting up, and to reboot.

 

 

http://www.myaccount.charter.com/customers/Support.aspx?SupportArticleID=3224

I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please click on the if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

Re: 8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

Resident Expert
OLDYELLR
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎03-01-2013

Have a look at the dianostic screens to see if any errors or bad sectors show up.

SA8300HD, SA8300SD, DTA50, LG-E410B PayGo. Location: S-W Ontario

I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please click on the ; if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

Re: 8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

Resident Expert
jimboden
Posts: 743
Registered: ‎08-15-2012

Thanks for your input gentlemen. This isn't the first time it's acted a little strange. When I put it back in use after sitting around for 3 months, I had to reformat the hard drive. Just haven't seen the FAIL thing before. I will take a look at the diagnostics too.

I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please click on the if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

Re: 8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

I've Been Around
zekecb
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-07-2012

Tried resetting digital box this morning...now it continually tries to boot, the tv will start to show, then clicks off and says "fail".

I think, I will call Rogers on this matter....sounds like hard drive could be bad.

Please use plain text.

Re: 8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

Resident Expert
jimboden
Posts: 743
Registered: ‎08-15-2012

zekecb:

 

I had the same issue for a while and it turned out to be the hard drive. Here's a thread on it which might help: http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/forums/forumtopicpage/board-id/PVR_settop_boxes_remotes/thread-...

I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please click on the if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

Re: 8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

Resident Expert
OLDYELLR
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎03-01-2013

zekecb wrote:

Tried resetting digital box this morning...now it continually tries to boot, the tv will start to show, then clicks off and says "fail".

I think, I will call Rogers on this matter....sounds like hard drive could be bad.


Is this a rental from Rogers? If so, then Rogers has to fix it. If you got it from Shopping Channel, there's a 2-year warranty.

SA8300HD, SA8300SD, DTA50, LG-E410B PayGo. Location: S-W Ontario

I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please click on the ; if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

Re: 8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

Resident Expert
Gdkitty
Posts: 8,761
Registered: ‎01-31-2012

Rental = Then rogers job to replace it.  Will likely replace with an 8642 or a 9865.  (the 9865 has some surround sound audio issues.. but if you dont need that, its a MUCH faster box than the 8642.

If its bought recently (like Oldyellr said from the shopping channel) usually has a 2 year warranty.

If bought, past the 2 years point... then your out of luck...
If its just the hard drive... there are ways of self replacing it.

If its more... your looking at buying a new unit.

I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please click on the if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

Re: 8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

[ Edited ]
I Plan to Stick Around
bla2342342342
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

I had a similar message on my 8300HD PVR when I did a reformat due to dropped frames while watching video (which I still see with my Next Box 3.0).

 

If it's a rental, as mentioned, Rogers will swap it out for a Next Box 2.0 (8642) or Next Box 3.0 (9865).

 

If it's a purchase, and is from The Shopping Channel, Rogers has an internal memo stating that you'll be "upgraded" to a Next Box 2.0.  The unfortunate part is that retail stores received a memo stating that the 8642 will be removed from the retail level about two weeks ago and that they're not getting any more units.  This means they'll have to send a tech out to do the swap (my tech showed up without the promised box TWICE). 

 

Rogers has discontinued support for the 8300HD.  If it's an owned box out of warranty, the diagnostic screens may help determine what the issue is -- if it's the drive, you can replace this pretty easily on your own if you have the proper TORX tool (and google the instructions elsewhere).  If it's the hardware, think about other options.

Please use plain text.
Announcements
Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums where you can ask questions, get answers and share expertise related to Rogers products and services.

Latest Blog Post: Resident Expert: Meowmix

Useful Community Links:
Welcome to the Community
Rogers Idea Box
Community Guidelines
Terms of Use
OS Upgrade Schedule
Wireless Network Upgrades
Nos forums communautaires
Top Kudoed Authors
User Kudos Count
8
2
2
1
1
© 1995 - 2010 Rogers Communications