Rogers.com - Welcome

WIRELESS HOME PHONE CABLE TV INTERNET HOME MONITORING BUNDLES SUPPORT
Accepted Solution

8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

Resident Expert
jimboden

Had an odd experience with an 8300 last night. When the time came to record a program, I noticed the record light wasn’t on. I have seen this a couple of other times and a reboot fixes it. I rebooted and close to the end, the display showed FAIL. Despite that, it came up and started recording my program. After about a minute, the box started rebooting on its own. The FAIL message showed up at least one more time. The interesting thing was the box rebooted itself at least 6 more times before it finally got back to normal. I was wondering if anyone else has ever seen this problem and what the FAIL message means.

I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please click on the if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

Re: 8300HD PVR FAIL Message and Rebooting

[ Edited ]
Resident Expert
Gdkitty

Seen people say they have had the fail message before a variety of things.. dead HDD.. other internal fairure, etc.
Best i have ever found of a listing of what the error codes mean, is that its a general failure on something starting up, and to reboot.

http://www.myaccount.charter.com/customers/Support.aspx?SupportArticleID=3224

I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please use plain text.

Resident Expert
OLDYELLR

Have a look at the dianostic screens to see if any errors or bad sectors show up.

SA8300HD, SA8300SD, DTA50, LG-E410B PayGo. Location: S-W Ontario

Please click on the "thumb" if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

Resident Expert
jimboden