Rogers.com - Welcome

WIRELESS HOME PHONE CABLE TV INTERNET HOME MONITORING BUNDLES SUPPORT
Accepted Solution

How do i Connect VCR/DVD player and computer to nextbox?

I've Been Around
csteeper

This is my first time ever posting on a forum. I apologize if I am in the wrong place for my concern. I have searched all through the site and can’t find the answers.

I have a 20 year old Sony Trinitron TV and just negotiated a new package with Rogers that is even better than what Bell was offering (cost wise). I am not very computer literate but I do setup any of the new devices in our home unless I am forced to use a Roger’s Tech visit.

Anyway, I now have a Nextbox 3.0 and it is working well. However, I have 2 questions.

1. How to hook up my DVD/Video player since there is only one coax cable from the wall to the nextbox and I used the Video and audio outputs to connect to the TV. So now I have no more outlets for my DVD/Video player. Is it possible to even hook it up and use it?
  2. I have an HP Pavilion dv5 Entertainment PC and it has:
    1. an external monitor port for VGA monitor hookup
    2. An RJ-45 (network) jack – I have a wireless home network
    3. An HDMI port, although the port is smaller than what is on the Nextbox
    4. An eSATA/USB port

Is it possible to hook up and watch the movies from my computer on the TV?

Thanks for any info even if it is “take a hike”.

Please use plain text.

Re: How do i Connect VCR/DVD player and computer to nextbox?

Resident Expert
Gdkitty

Guessing its a little bit older of a TV then? That it only has the one basic video input? (as well as the coax).

Doesnt have any HDMI, etc?

If you are using the single video input (with the two audio) (not the 3 video component connection), you would only bet getting an SD signal. 
Component or HDMI would give you and HD signal.. but if your tv doesnt have it..

ONLY config i can see.. which MIGHT work..