Rogers.com - Welcome

WIRELESS HOME PHONE CABLE TV INTERNET HOME MONITORING BUNDLES SUPPORT

Scientific Atlantic 8300hd PVR

I've Been Here Awhile
bbuffy2000

I am at my breaking point.  We own a Scietific Atlantic 8300hd PVR.  The recording funtion wasn't working so the disk was reformatted. Since being reformatted, all the channels have severe pixelation. I have no idea how to fix it but with all my other problems with Rogers internet, I'm ready to cancel everything.  Any ideas how I can fix this?

Please use plain text.

Re: Scientific Atlantic 8300hd PVR

Resident Expert
Lurker

According to the link below, try the reformat again.  According to these folks, sometimes, a reormat doesn't 'take' on the first try.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/471859/sa-8300-hd-tips-tricks-sara

---------------------------------------------------------------
I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please click on the if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

Resident Expert
Gdkitty

Pixelization, can often be a SIGNAL issue.

If you are having internet issues as well, would be worth having a tech out to check EVERYTHING just in case.

I'm NOT a Rogers employee. I'm a Rogers Community Resident Expert and I'm here to help. To learn more about the Resident Expert program, click here
Please click on the if you like my posts.
Please use plain text.

I've Been Around
BigJug

If everything was working properly before, then the pixilization could be due to a faulty hard drive.  Since PVR's "buffer" a certain about of data as you watch, if the hard drive were on the fritz, you would see pixilization.  Hard drives commonly fail as it is a moving device, and many people and threads are out there with pictures showing you how to repair this yourself.