Rogers Community Forums Blog

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hey Community,

 

The 2017 NBA Draft is held tonight! Our very own Toronto Raptors currently hold the 23rd overall draft. Who are we going to pick?!  You can catch all the action tonight at 7:00pm ET on Sportsnet One and Sportsnet Now!

 

As well, Sportsnet is also hosting a Live Blog and Draft Tracker.  Don't forget to join the conversation!

 

 

SN_NBA_DRAFT_TW_TON.jpeg

 

nhl.jpg

Hey Community,

 

The playoffs may be over, but Sportsnet continues to bring the latest NHL news and events to fans across the country this week. Comprehensive coverage of the 2017 NHL Awards and NHL Expansion Draft from Las Vegas airs on Wednesday, June 21 at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT and the 2017 NHL Draft from Chicago starts on Friday, June 23 at 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT. Coverage of these events is available on Sportsnet, Sportsnet NOW, Sportsnet Radio Network and Sportsnet.ca.

 

Making the awards of particular interest to Canadian hockey fans, a total of six players and two coaches from Canadian teams are in the running for major NHL Awards. The list includes: Edmonton’s Connor McDavid (Hart Trophy) and Todd McLellan (Jack Adams Award), Toronto’s Auston Matthews (Calder Trophy) and Mike Babcock (Jack Adams Award), Winnipeg’s Patrik Laine (Calder Trophy), Montreal’s Carey Price (Vezina Trophy), Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson (Norris Trophy) and Calgary’s Johnny Gaudreau (Lady Byng Memorial Trophy).

 

In between handing out the hardware, the results of the expansion draft for the NHL’s newest team, the Vegas Golden Knights, will be revealed during segments hosted by Daren Millard and NBC’s Kathryn Tappen. Elliotte Friedman and David Amber will also be on-site in Las Vegas to lend their expert insight into the proceedings with Gene Principe reporting for Sportsnet Central.

 

Sportsnet’s in-depth analysis of all things NHL continues on the weekend with the 2017 NHL Draft as multiplatform coverage on television, radio and digital will give fans an extensive look into the prospects selected to be part of the future of their favourite teams.

Sportsnet’s coverage of the 2017 NHL Draft on all platforms includes:

 

Television
All Sportsnet 2017 NHL Draft coverage available on Sportsnet NOW
All programming is subject to change

Wednesday, June 21

  • 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT on Sportsnet – The 2017 NHL Draft Preview hosted by Millard will air just before the 2017 NHL Awards and NHL Expansion Draft. Tune in for analysis on the draft strategy for Canadian teams, first-round prospects and a feature on potential No. 1 pick Nolan Patrick.

Friday, June 23

  • 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT on Sportsnet – The Hockey Central Draft Special kicks off the evening followed by the first round of the 2017 NHL Draft which gets underway at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT with Sportsnet’s roster of hockey experts covering all the angles:
    • On the desk: Millard hosts the panel of Sam Cosentino and Louie DeBrusk
    • On the floor: Friedman and Jeff Marek report the stories, trade rumours and reactions from the teams on the floor
    • With the players: Tara Slone gets the first reactions and raw emotions from the players moments after they are drafted
  • Sportsnet Central: Sean Reynolds will be on-site in Chicago to provide daily updates for Sportsnet Central, alongside Sportsnet’s team of hockey analysts.

Saturday, June 24

  • 10 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. PT – LIVE: Rounds 2 – 7 of the 2017 NHL Draft on Sportsnet
    • Friedman and Chris Johnston report up-to-the-minute news as part of NHL Network’s coverage

Radio

 

Sportsnet 960 The FAN’s Rob Kerr and Pat Steinberg will lead Sportsnet Radio Network’s coverage live from Chicago on both days of the draft. Radio and online streaming broadcasts include:

Friday, June 23

Saturday, June 24

  • 10 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. PT – LIVE: Rounds 2 – 7 of the 2017 NHL Draft (Sportsnet 590 The FAN and Sportsnet 960 The FAN)

Note: Sportsnet 590 The FAN listeners can catch early coverage starting at 9 a.m. ET / 6 a.m. PT at Sportsnet.ca/590 as well as continued coverage of the draft when Blue Jays baseball starts on radio at 1:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 a.m. PT.

The Perfect Game Starts Here With Rogers GamePlus

Score exclusive VIP experiences, watch sports in a whole new way, and more!

Read more...

Introducing the Ted Rogers Scholarship Fund!

Hey Community,

 

The Ted Rogers Scholarship Fund was created in honour of our founder, Ted Rogers. Launched in June 2017, the fund is dedicated to ensuring the success of future generations of Canadians by helping the brightest young leaders across the country succeed in their educational aspirations.​ We are also dedicated to providing community grants to support organizations with educational programming.

 

The Ted Rogers Scholarship Fund is divided into three key pillars: Youth Scholarships, ​the Employee Scholarship Program, and Community Grants.


By focusing on the importance of youth development and educational programs, we are helping to break down barriers that Canadian youths face in order to help our next generation of leaders succeed.

 

We have worked with our scholarship partner organizations to identify and select 150 high school graduates who will be the first recipients of the Ted Rogers Scholarships, Class of 2017. These bright individuals have exemplified strong leadership skills and dedication to making their communities a better place. It’s the first year among many to support their quest for higher education. Scholarship recipients will receive  up to $10,000 for the tenure of their undergraduate degree or college program duration.

 

We’ve also identified community organizations in Canada that have gone above and beyond to provide their communities with educational support programs. These grants will help our partners continue to run innovative community programs focused on inspiring youth to continue their education and to develop skills to help them succeed.

 

To learn more about the Ted Rogers Scholarship Fund, you can visit HERE.

 

Labels