OpenVPN through CODA-4582U

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around

OpenVPN through CODA-4582U

I am new to Rogers Ignite and would like to know if the capability is there to run OpenVPN on my internal router through CODA-4582U?

I only came across one post (2016) but it dealt with CGN3* modem. There were issues mentioned about loosing the ability to login to the modem after making a change. Has that been rectified by Rogers?

I don't see the rogers IP on my side but a 192.168.0.1   

Is it still possible to use more than one Ethernet port on the modem?

*** Added Labels ***

Solved! Go to Solution.
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Re: OpenVPN through CODA-4582U

@TECHHEAD, you shouldn't run into issues using OpenVPN with your own router and with the 4582 in Bridge mode.  You can also access the modem when its running in Gateway or Bridge mode using the following addresses:

Gateway mode:  192.168.0.1 or 192.168.100.1

Bridge mode:  192.168.100.1 only

Note that some routers may require a routing rule to access the modem.  That's not the normal case, but it does come up from time to time.   Looking back over the previous modems, using 102.168.0.1 or 192.168.100.1 has usually worked.  I recall that there was an issue with the CGN3 way back, where 192.168.100.1 didn't work in a particular firmware update.  I believe that was the issue, and I think its been resolved but don't quote me on that one.  Also note that there are various models of the CGN3xxxx modem, running slightly different firmware versions, so the login issue wasn't seen across all models. 

For the ethernet ports, the following applies:

Gateway mode:  all 4 ethernet ports may be used

Bridge mode:  two ports may be used which will provide independent IPV4 and IPV6