Gigabit Speeds

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Gigabit Speeds

I have no additional router at home. My Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 router is running on Gateway mode. 

About the first thing you mentioned, Yes, I checked it. It is running on DOCSIS 3.1. In addition, the noise problem could be form anything we can imagine. Even a small metal braid in the equipment such as optical nodes etc can affect noise floor. This problem can be solved by techs that can do troubleshooting on the line.

 

Are you asking these tables?

 

Btw, thank you for your response to this matter.

 

Upstream Overview

Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM33.00026400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM35.25033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM33.50016400000

 

OFDM Downstream Overview

ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES5.900002
1NANANONONO

NA

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 5,635

Re: Gigabit Speeds

@Krombacher35 can you post the whole table, from the top line of the top Downstream section all the way down to the bottom of the Upstream OFDMA section at the bottom? 



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Gigabit Speeds

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM7.900740.366
2855000000256QAM8.000338.983
3861000000256QAM7.500440.366
4579000000256QAM8.300540.366
5585000000256QAM8.000640.366
6849000000256QAM8.500240.366
7597000000256QAM7.900840.366
8603000000256QAM8.300940.366
9609000000256QAM8.5001040.366
10615000000256QAM8.5001140.366
11621000000256QAM8.9001240.366
12633000000256QAM8.5001340.366
13639000000256QAM8.4001440.366
14645000000256QAM8.5001540.366
15651000000256QAM8.0001640.366
16657000000256QAM7.4001740.946
17663000000256QAM7.3001838.983
18669000000256QAM7.3001940.366
19675000000256QAM7.0002040.366
20681000000256QAM7.0002140.366
21687000000256QAM6.9002240.366
22693000000256QAM7.1002340.366
23699000000256QAM8.0002440.366
24705000000256QAM7.7002538.983
25711000000256QAM7.3002640.366
26717000000256QAM7.3002738.983
27723000000256QAM6.8002838.983
28825000000256QAM8.1002938.983
29831000000256QAM8.2003040.366
30837000000256QAM8.8003140.366
31843000000256QAM8.7003240.366
32303000000256QAM5.100138.605
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES6.000000
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM33.00026400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM35.25033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM33.50016400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 5,635

Re: Gigabit Speeds

@Krombacher35, can you delete everything above the Downstream Overview.  That info is modem specific and for your own security shouldn't be available to view in an open forum such as this. 

 

Your DOCSIS 3.0 signal levels are all high, still within spec, but higher than normal.  The signal to noise ratios, or, MERs are all fine.  The upstream DOCSIS 3.0 levels are about where I would expect them to be for a modem running DOCSIS 3.1 on the downstream side.  So, the DOCSIS 3.0 levels above are interesting, but, since the modem is running DOCSIS 3.1 on the downstream, the only thing one can surmise is that the downstream levels are higher than normal.  The problem is that there isn't enough info for the lower 200 to 500 Mhz range.  The signal levels within any range of that amount can vary widely.  The one DOCSIS 3.0 channel sitting at 303 Mhz is also higher than normal, so, my assumption is that the OFDM channel, which runs in that range would also be higher than normal.  That should be a good thing as the resulting signal to noise ratios in the OFDM band should be acceptable, but, thats an assumption.  Perhaps tech support could indicate if that OFDM band is healthy.  So, I'm going to have to think about this, but, on the surface, the signal levels looks like they shouldn't pose a problem.  So, the next question is, whats the problem between the modem and CMTS that is causing your data rates to drop so significantly? 



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Gigabit Speeds

Ctrl+A sometimes works too much Smiley Happy
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 5,635

Re: Gigabit Speeds

Can you have a look at my added notes in the post above? 



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Gigabit Speeds

Downstream Overview does not show all channels I expect. For example, ch 70, ch 96 etc. That 40 db noise level still could be a problem in order to have extensive speed. I will try my chance to call a tech and see what he will say.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 5,635

Re: Gigabit Speeds

A 40 dB signal to noise ratio, which really isn't a signal to noise ratio, is the highest that you will see with this modem.  Basically its indicating that there isn't much error, if any, in the final received signals, in terms of where they are supposed to be, and where they actually are.  So, the DOCSIS 3.0 side of the signal levels looks fine.  The problem is the DOCSIS 3.1 side of the house. Remember what I said originally, that there are a minority of customers who run into slow data rate issues with DOCSIS 3.1 running.  Unfortunately, your modem seems to be in that category, and I have no reasonable explanation to offer at this point in time.  To say that this situation is aggravating is an understatement.  This is where we might need the services of @RogersBob or @RogersSyd to resolve the issue. 

 

Are you in an apartment be any chance?  High downstream levels like yours are typical for apartment/condo/highrise customers as those buildings use Multiple Dwelling Units (MDUs) to provide data distribution instead of a CMTS that is used for residential neighborhoods. 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 52

Re: Gigabit Speeds

I had a technician to swap out the Hitron modem to a new 4582U. I previously had the regular 4582 modem with two black dots (which I was told it was recalled twice)...the new modem has corrected the noise signal problem which I had before as per the technician...my new speed is more fairly consistent (wired connection) at around 870Mbps down... The technician also said there will be a new modem coming out next month. Can anyone confirm? Thank you.
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Gigabit Speeds

 

Rogers, Look at what I am getting for my 1GB download speed!

 

So far 3 tickets opened, no improvement. Every time, support follow the same set of instructions for troubleshooting. No improvement yet. 

 

Snap1.jpg

 

 

 

What's New